The power of Twitter

If anyone ever questions the power of Twitter, well listen to this story.

Travelling from Canberra to Melbourne last night – plane lands and taxing to gate.  Plane is at gate and we are told we are able to use our phones.

I do as all others do and get my bag down from the lockers and then pull out my iPhone  and start to read my twitter feed.

The guy behind me just happened to also be doing the same thing. As he pulled his bag down he glanced over my shoulder at my phone and then to my surprise said:

“Hey you are Con Sotidis – is that right?”

I turned around and looked in amazement – I had never met this guy before in my life, never spoke to him, did not know him at all.

So I replied with a little hesitation – “yes how do you know my name”

His response: “Mate I can recognise that Twitter Pic from a mile away – everyone knows @Learnkotch and his Pic”

So we got talking – ended up discovering that he is a mate of @activatelearn and he works in L&D at the NAB with Helen.

Am amazing experience that I had to share.

What did I learn:

1. Never underestimate the power of Twitter

2. My Twitter pic and my caricature are strong key elements of my brand and my business

3. Social Media has a role to play in our professional lives.

 

Leave a Reply

